All of us can think of special individuals who always manage to find time to help other people.  14/WILI and the Mohegan Sun have a name for those special people.  They are Connecticut's RAYS OF SUNSHINE, and together we're paying tribute to them.   Hear acceptance interviews with many of our Ray of Sunshine winners by clicking here.  To nominate someone, simply email wayne @ or snail mail your entry to WILI Ray of Sunshine, 720 Main Street, Willimantic, Ct. 06226 with a few details on why your nominee is special.

Adrianne DeVivo

Adrianne DeVivo
Adrianne DeVivo is our latest Ray of Sunshine Award winner.  Her husband Ben wrote the nomination letter:

Over 15 years ago I met the most amazing person I've ever known, my (now) wife, Adrianne DeVivo. Adrianne is a motivated, passionate and extremely driven young woman. Besides working a full-time job, Adrianne is a full-time Mom who goes above and beyond to make sure everyone around her is taken care of and feels the love that she truly has to share.

Adrianne is the co-founder of a local volunteer group, 'Will-I Volunteer'.  "Will-I Volunteer" organizes a variety of events for people with special needs. From weekly activities to holiday parties, cookouts and even talent shows, Adrianne always finds a way to make everyone involved feel appreciated and welcomed.

With Adrianne at the helm, "Will-I" is also very active with collecting and distributing diapers to local families in need; something Adrianne has been passionate about for a number of years. Recently on a cold and rainy-day Adrianne rallied up some volunteers and they stood outside for an entire day collecting diapers and spreading the word about the need for diapers. At the end of the day I noticed they didn't collect many diapers, but that didn't bother Adrianne at all. She was happy people stopped and asked questions, she was happy she could teach members of her community how important it is to help families in need.

Adrianne is also a long-time volunteer at the annual Special Olympics swim meet at Windham High. For years I've watched Adrianne hide behind the scenes, wanting no recognition, but trust me when I say that she deserves some! Over the years I've seen Adrianne create flyers, prep for decorations, coach winning teams, coordinate hundreds of volunteers, the list goes on and onů The amount of time and effort she puts into this event is incredible and every year I'm blown away by her dedication.

If you've had the pleasure of meeting Adrianne, you know she is a true ray of sunshine and that is why I would like to nominate Adrianne DeVivo for the Ray of Sunshine Award.

Ray of Sunshine Archive:
November 2018 - Kathy Cote
August 2018 - Nicole Henry
May 2018 - Adrianne DeVivo
February 2018 - Mike and Glenn Morell
November 2017 - Phil Pavone
August 2017 - Pat Tolokan
May 2017 - Carolyn Stanich
February 2017 - Rita Perry
November 2016 - Jonathan Wadsworth
August 2016 - Marie Hakmiller
May 2016 - Lorraine Strenkowski
February 2016 - Alice Bury
December 2015 - Rosemarie Bessette
August 2015 - Tonya Landrie Ohlund
May 2015 - Karen Schenck
February 2015 - Maurice Simard
November 2014 - Dorothy Stevens
August 2014 - Phyllis Pintal
May 2014 - Karen Porter
March 2014 - Joan Merritt
November 2013 - Ron Pires
August 2013 - Dorothy Deptula
May 2013 - AnnMarie Poudrier
March 2013 - Frank Kristoff
January 2013 - Bil Czmyr
August 2012 - Patti Sue Brown
May 2012 - Bobbi Brown
February 2012 - Judy Prescott
November 2011 - Kathy Pekarovic
August 2011 - Dee and Dale Hammon
May 2011 - Sandy Reed
February 2011 - Rich Balogh
November 2010 - Lisa Baker Rose
September 2010 - Dan Hill
May 2010 - Susan Humes
February 2010 - Donna Charron
November 2009 - Pamela Bibeau
August 2009 - Joan Morin
June 2009 - Kay Roan
March 2009 - Marion Russo
December 2008 - Frank and Shirley Mauro
November 2008 - Charlene Perry
October 2008 - Angela LaTour
September 2008 - Joan Goba
August 2008 - Donna Clauson
July 2008 - Rosa Tirado
June 2008 - Barbara Leary
May 2008 - Kord Baker
April 2008 - Joe Henry
March 2008 - Barbara Colon
February 2008 - Charlie Wynn
January 2008 - Jessica Medina
December 2007 - Linda Harbec
November 2007 - Richard Kelley
October 2007 - Lynn White
September 2007 - Paul Doyle
July 2007 - Pam Horrocks
June 2007 - Lauren Perrotti
May 2007 - Jean DeSmet
April 2007 - Gen Micali
February 2007 - Belinda Clark
January 2007 - Miriam Epstein
December 2006 - Anita Sebestyen
November 2006 - Eileen Spear
October 2006 - Monique Roy
September 2006 - Helen Card
August 2006 - Joan Doiron
July 2006 - Roddy McComber
June 2006 - Tom Beardsley
May 2006 - Victor and Martha Funderburk
March 2006 - Barry Shayer
February 2006 - Judith Jencks
January 2006 - Ray Milvae
Copyright - 2019 - All rights Reserved
Constructed by - Quasars -